Under glass

My decision to put my paintings in frames instead of hanging came about because it look better and more professional in the exhibition than I think hanging them would have. During crits it was mentioned by a few people in their comments that the reflection in the glass actually added to the piece. I hadn’t given this any thought before, but they said that because you had to get up close to the paintings when looking at the you could see your own reflection looking back at you. My first thought was that maybe this was quite annoying, like when your trying to watch telly but cant see past your own face. However they said differently, apparently because they can see their reflection it makes them feel like they are apart of the painting or one person said it was like going through a tunnel. It just shows how helpful crits can be because it makes you look at things you didn’t think of before, such at the reflection.

IMG_7126

Leave a comment